Hamilton back on pole for Abu Dhabi season-ender

Hamilton back on pole for Abu Dhabi season-ender


Lewis Hamilton will start the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix alongside Max Verstappen after claiming a comfortable pole position at Yas Marina.

Hamilton has already won the title -- the sixth of his career -- but is chasing win number 11 this weekend to finish his season on a high. The pole position was his first since the German Grand Prix in July and only the fifth of an otherwise dominant season.

His Mercedes teammate Valtteri Bottas set the second fastest time, but will start from the back of the grid due to a penalty for exceeding his quota of engine components for the year. Bottas' penalty will promote Red Bull's Verstappen, who won two weeks ago in Brazil, to the front row of the grid after he set a time 0.350s off Hamilton.

Charles Leclerc will move up to third, but could have moved ahead of Verstappen had he not been timed out by the clock before starting his final qualifying lap. The Ferrari driver received a warning from his engineer, but was unable to get to the start line before the chequered flag brought an end to the session.

Leclerc will be joined on the second row of the grid by teammate Sebastian Vettel, meaning they will start alongside each other just two weeks after colliding while fighting for fourth position in Brazil. Ferrari insist no team orders have been introduced as a result of the accident, but the two drivers, who are separated by 19 points in the standings, will be keen to finish ahead of each other ahead of the long winter break.

The second Red Bull of Alex Albon will start sixth ahead of Lando Norris' McLaren, Danile Ricciardo's Renault, Carlos Sainz's McLaren and the second Renault of Nico Hulkenberg, who is without a contract for next year.

Sergio Perez qualified 11th for Racing Point, which will become 10th on the grid once Valtteri Bottas' penalty is applied, ahead of Pierre Gasly, Lance Stroll, Daniil Kvyat and Kevin Magnussen, who were also knocked out in the second session of qualifying.

Romain Grosjean qualified 16th after setting a time 0.3s off teammate Kevin Magnussen. The two Alfa Romeos finished 17th and 18th, with Antonio Giovinazzi beating Kimi Raikkonen, and the two Williams in 19th and 20th, with George Russell ahead of Robert Kubica for the 21st time in 21 qualifying sessions this year.



Contac Us | Advertise on LiveSportOnline.org | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Cookie Policy | Information for the copyright holders