Everton handed tricky draw


Tottenham have been handed a tricky-looking Europa League draw after being pitted alongside Besiktas, Partizan Belgrade and Asteras in Group C. Spurs earned their place in the group stage of the competition by advancing past AEL in the playoff round, winning 5-1 on aggregate. Mauricio Pochettino's side will be eager to do well in the Europa League this term, given that for the first time the winner of the tournament will earn a place in the Champions League for the following season. Turkish outfit Besiktas will be confident taking on Spurs, having impressed over two legs against Arsenal in the Champions League playoff, coming close to knocking the Gunners out. As well as travelling to Turkey, the current Premier League leaders also face trips to Serbia and Greece, to take on Partizan and Asteras respectively. Everton, meanwhile, face a real challenge in trying to advance past Group H on their return to Europe. The Toffees, who are competing in the Europa League for the first time since the 2009-10 season, have been drawn alongside Lille, Wolfsburg and Krasnodar. Defending champions Sevilla will open the defence of their title with Group G ties against Standard Liege, Feyenoord and Rijeka. The Spanish side, who beat Benfica in last term's final, are aiming to win the trophy for the fourth time in 10 seasons. Elsewhere, Inter Milan have been drawn in Group F with Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk, St Etienne and Qarabag, while Napoli, who were knocked out of the Champions League playoff round by Athletic Bilbao, will meet Sparta Prague, Young Boys and Slovan Bratislava in Group I. Group A Villarreal Borussia Monchengladbach Zurich Apollon Limassol Group B Copenhagen Club Brugge Torino HJK Helsinki Group C Tottenham Besiktas Partizan Belgrade Asteras Group D Salzburg Celtic Dinamo Zagreb Astra Group E PSV Eindhoven Panathinaikos Estoril Dinamo Moscow Group F Inter Milan Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk St Etienne Qarabag Group G Sevilla Standard Liege Feyenoord Rijeka Group H Lille Wolfsburg Everton Krasnodar Group I Napoli Sparta Prague Young Boys Slovan Bratislava Group J Dynamo Kiev Steaua Bucuresti Rio Ave Aalborg Group K Fiorentina PAOK Guingamp Dinamo Minsk Group L Metalist Kharkiv Trabzonspor Legia Warsaw Lokeren